Day 9 Importance of Position

Acts 19:13 Then some of the itinerant Jewish exorcists took it upon themselves to call the name of the Lord Jesus over those who had evil spirits, saying, “We[a] exorcise you by the Jesus whom Paul preaches.” 14 Also there were seven sons of Sceva, a Jewish chief priest, who did so. 15 And the evil spirit answered and said, “Jesus I know, and Paul I know; but who are you?” 16 Then the man in whom the evil spirit was leaped on them, overpowered[b] them, and prevailed against them,[c] so that they fled out of that house naked and wounded. (NKJV)

You can tell from the way they handle Jesus that the sons of Sceva had no relationship with Christ. They say, “Jesus, whom Paul preaches.” Not, “Jesus, my savior,” or “Jesus, the Christ.” They had not entered into the covenant. They were not hid in Christ or abiding in Christ. They knew the name of Jesus because Paul had preached it boldly. They used his name like a charm or mantra, hoping to achieve results based on the simple repetition of a phrase.

Yet, why did the spirits know Paul?

Paul knew his position as a believer. “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20) They knew Paul because Paul knew Christ.

Have you established a reputation in the spirit realm?

If you are asked the question, “Who are you?”, the answer should be “I am a child of God, hid in Christ, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

Continue in Him. Be bold in the spirit, knowing who you are in Christ. Remember, “in the name of Jesus” isn’t just a phrase, it’s a position.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

