Day 4 Abiding

John 8: 31 Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. 32 And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” 33 They answered Him, “We are Abraham’s descendants, and have never been in bondage to anyone. How can You say, ‘You will be made free’?” 34 Jesus answered them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, whoever commits sin is a slave of sin. 35 And a slave does not abide in the house forever, but a son abides forever. 36 Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.

John 15: 3 Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you.  4Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.  5I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.  6If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.  7If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.

I want to present you with a brief excerpt from a book by Watchman Nee.

“How do we abide? ‘Of God are ye in Christ Jesus.’ (1Corinthians 1:30) It was the work of God to put you there and he has done it. Now stay there! Do not be moved back on to your ground. Never look at yourself as though you were not in Christ. Look at Christ, and see yourself in Him. Abide in Him. Rest in the fact that God has put you in His Son, and live in the expectation that he will complete his work in you.  It is for him to make good the glorious promise that ‘sin shall not have dominion over you.'(Romans 6:14)”

Here is 1 Corinthians 1:30 (Amplified Bible) But it is from Him (God) that you have your life in Christ Jesus, Whom God made our Wisdom from God, [revealed to us a knowledge of the divine plan of salvation previously hidden, manifesting itself as] our Righteousness [thus making us upright and putting us in right standing with God], and our Consecration [making us pure and holy], and our Redemption [providing our ransom from eternal penalty for sin].

Abide! Do not let yourself be moved back into your flesh, from what God has made you to be, lest someone say to us as Paul said to the Galatians, “Are you so foolish? Having begun in the Spirit, are you now being made perfect by the flesh?” Rather let us say, “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

Dear Christian, trust God.  Let Him tend to the vine of your life. In every moment, recognize that ‘of God are ye in Christ.’ And because God has placed you there, He can keep you there.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

