The life I now live

Galatians 2:20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Hebrews 12:1 Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,

Do you ever feel like a snail in the Christian life? As though no matter how much effort you invest or how many resolutions you make, you cannot make progress? The goal of a powerful Christian life is clearly set before your eyes, yet that mark feels so distant to your soul.

I was there.  I found myself struggling to make any forward progress in the Christian Life.   And it wasn’t for lack of effort. It wasn’t for lack of desire.  You would have found few more zealous than I.  Yet the overcoming life seemed but a fable told to children before bed.

Then, years ago, lying in bed, it struck me.  As long as I attempted to live the Christian life out of my own flesh, I would forever be subjected to inability of the flesh to produce anything spiritual.  Jesus said “That which is born of the flesh is flesh, but that which is born of the spirit is spirit.”

I realized what Paul clearly states.  I am crucified. My flesh is finished.  Obviously, I am still alive here, but this existence is no longer lived through my fleshly efforts, but by the faith of God.

I am, in my flesh, still as incapable as a snail in this Christian life.  Yet, in Christ, the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me, I am able to run this race.  I abide in Him, because in Him is my only hope of progress. Only in Him is there potential for any spiritual success.  Only by abiding in Him am I able to be what it is He called me to be, to run how he called me to run, to live as He called me to live.

Abide in Him as the snails in the video above abide in the shoes.  If you fail, get up, thank Christ for His grace, and press on. Remember, you are no longer apart from Christ, but you are in Him, and He is in you, empowering you.

And as branch receives sap from a vine, as you remain in Him, so likewise will there be more power to you.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

