Troubled about many things

Luke 10:41And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:

Does this seem like you? How and when do you worry? How do you fret? What is the process behind it?

It’s simple isn’t it.  You just wake up and look around, and a thousand needs and desires and situations crash in on you.  You could even say that it fills you, right?  As we focus on all that swarms around us, it’s easy to even question if Jesus cares for us at all.

                   Mark 4:8And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow: and they awake him, and say unto him, Master, carest thou not that we perish?

And we  are forced into a place of decision.  Do we continue in our worry? Do we focus on all of the necessities of life?  If so what is the effect on the Word of God sown in our hearts?

Mark 419And the cares of this world, and the deceitfulness of riches, and the lusts of other things entering in, choke the word, and it becometh unfruitful.

What is our other option? What should we do instead?

Matthew 6:31Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?

Yes, that’s easy to say. But is it practical? Is it feasible?  What confidence can we have? What can I do when I am already consumed and filled with such worry and doubt?

Philippians 4Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

1 Peter 5 :7Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

What’s this? He cares for me? For me? Me?  He wants me to give Him my cares?  Praise God.  The Creator of the Universe cares for me. And if He clothes the lily, and feeds the sparrow, how much more faithful will He be to me, someone whom He sought out and willingly sacrificed His own Son for.

Ephesians 5:25.…even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it;  26That he might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the word,

Hebrews 1022Let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water.

Be washed from all that would seek to fill your heart and steal your joy and choke the word and cripple your faith.  Let the Word of God cleanse you of all doubt. Abide in Him and His love for you. When worry and care creeps in, cast it on the Lord, saying with confidence “You care for me.”  Set aside the throne of your heart for the Lord only, and when worry tries to usurp His place, take it captive and make it line up with the Word.

When I wake up, my first thought is this: I abide in You and You abide in me.

Why? Because in Him I have my confidence and strength. And when all else seeks to overwhelm me, I rest, knowing He cares for me.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

