Lord, We Know Not

John 14:4 And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know. 5Thomas saith unto him, Lord, we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way? 6Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

 Have you ever pulled this ‘Thomas’? You know, where Jesus through the Word clearly expresses His will and you directly contradict Him. Or maybe you have had a conversation with Christ that looks like this:

 Jesus: I love you, Son

Christian: Lord, do you love me? Because I don’t feel it.

 or maybe…

 Jesus: It’s my will for you to be well.

Christian: Lord, is it your will for me to be well?

 This could be any of a thousand other conversations we have or prayers we pray that directly disregard the Word of God on a subject, as though our situations are somehow outside of the realm of the revealed will of God through His Word. The world is always trying to get you to the place where you are unsure of the Word of God and say “Lord, we know not.”

 The Word says to the lost, “I am the way, the truth and the life. No man comes to the Father but by me.” The World says, “Any way is acceptable and there are many paths to heaven.”

The Word says to the sick, “I will, be thou made whole.” The World says, “God wants you sick so he can teach you something. He gave this to you.”

The Word says to the Christian, “You are the righteousness of God in Christ.” The World says, “You are just a sinner, barely saved, and you should be condemned.”

 If the Word says it, you cannot say “Lord, we know not.” You can say, “Lord, we don’t believe your Word,” (which is much more honest) or you can say, “Lord, I believe! Help thou my unbelief.” Dear, Christian, go back to the Word and see what the Word says, and believe it!

Leave a Reply

