John 17: 23I in them, and thou in me, that they may be made perfect in one; and that the world may know that thou hast sent me, and hast loved them, as thou hast loved me.

1 John 3:2Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is.

1 Corinthians 11: 1Be ye followers of me, even as I also am of Christ.

1 Corinthians 4: 16So I urge and implore you, be imitators of me. (Amplified)

Any student of basketball in the last 20 years can tell you about Michael Jordan. His trademarks, his nuances.  The crossover, the tongue out, the free throw line takeoff.  

But before there was “Like Mike,” Jesus said “like Me.”  And afterward Paul says “Like me as I am like Christ.”  

And down through the ages, Christians have begun to imitate each other. There’s the trade mark language.  “Repent-uh, and-uh be Saved-uh”.  There’s the Smith Wigglesworth punch. There’s the ‘hand-on-the-forehead and small-of-the-back push’.  There’s a hundred other traditions and religious actions that we feel identify us as Christians.

But doing these things doesn’t make you any more like Christ than sticking out your tongue makes you Michael Jordan. 

Look in the Scriptures to see Christ and imitate Him.  Find what the Word says about you and commit to being that.  Watch then, how you can let your game speak for itself.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

