Hast Thou Not Known Me?

John 14:9 Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Show us the Father?

 A crusty First Sergeant in the Army once told me (a young lieutenant at the time), “Sir, I have underwear that have been in the Army longer than you,” implying that his length in service was the deciding factor on who should be in charge.  Yet, time and experience cannot always be construed as time well spent or as experience which caused growth.

 I was saved at eight years old. I was baptized in the Holy spirit at 14. I went to a bible college at 19. And throughout I have never turned away from the Lord. Have I made mistakes? Absolutely. But most of my mistakes were caused, not by lack of effort, but by lack of knowing Jesus.

 For over 20 years I’ve served the Lord. Yet, sometimes, I hear the gentle voice of the Lord ask me the same question. “Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Michael?” I have realized that time spent doing something doesn’t always equate to time spent doing something correctly.  We have politicians who have been in government their whole lives, but have only been a waste of time and space. We have ministers who have spent their entire lives in “service to the Lord’, yet when Christ comes will have no lasting fruit to show.  Oh, that the church would spend less time entertaining and more time with Jesus!

 Every day with Jesus is a fresh adventure. Every day is an opportunity to get to know Him more.   I’ve heard it said that ‘right believing produces right doing,” and this is true. Still, I would go one step closer to the root and say that right believing can only come from rightly knowing the Lord. Everything else will fall into place when we know Him.

Leave a Reply

